The UFC has purged its roster of a further 10 fighters earlier today, with one of the most notable names being former Cage Warriors Welterweight Champion Nicolas Dalby.

Tweet bot @UFCFIGHTERSiNFO was the first to spot the amendment to the UFC’s roster page.

Denmark’s Dalby (14-2-1) leaves the UFC having gone 1-2-1 with the organisation, though he did lose his last two fights inside the octagon. He initially joined the promotion in 2015 after a 2-0 run with Cage Warriors, during which he won the Cage Warriors Welterweight Championship at CWFC 66, defeating Sergei Churilov.

Dalby’s UFC run started brightly, with a decision win over Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos. A ‘Fight of the Night’ brawl with Darren Till at UFC Dublin resulted in a draw, and that was followed by two successive defeats, to Zak Cummings and Peter Sobotta.

Though Dalby last fought in September 2016, he was only today made aware of the news. In a statement posted on Instagram, he said:

I received information that I’ve been cut from the UFC. Is it a bitter pill to swallow? Sure is. Fighting in the UFC is about as big as it gets in MMA.

However I am immensely humbled by the love and support my fans, friends, family and girlfriend have showed me! And now it’s up to me to show the world that nobody puts Dalby in the corner.

“I’m a lover and a fighter. So now I’ll give my girlfriend a big kiss and go to the gym and train harder than I ever did before. I’ll be back. Stronger and more dangerous than ever!”

Dalby recently commentated on Cage Warriors 80 in London, and a return to the promotion, be it inside the cage or on the commentary booth, could be on the cards.

Other fighters who were released from the UFC today include Li Jingliang, who was riding a two fight winning streak; and Brandon Thatch, who made an explosive start to his UFC career, but lost his last four fights by way of submission.

The full list of fighters cut from the UFC roster today can be found here:

· Brandon Thatch

· Li Jingliang

· Yusuke Kasuya

· Felipe Olivieri

· Chris Avila

· Jason Novelli

· J.C. Cottrell

· Nicolas Dalby

· Dong-Yi Yang

· Erick Montano