fighter of the year

The MMA Plus team select their end of year awards for 2016. In this edition, the staff members select their fighter of the year. But will the team agree on a majority winner?

The categories for the MMA Plus awards are: Fighter of the year, Coach of the year, Fight of the year, Event of the year, Upset of the year, Knockout of the year, Submission of the year, Breakout star of 2016.

MMA Plus 2016 Fighter of the Year picks

Seán Ryan: Fighter of the Year – Conor McGregor

There’s about six different people this could go to, but for me there’s one standout. Conor McGregor made history at UFC 205 by becoming the first two weight champion in the UFC and that does it for me. It was an incredible year for the Irishman with the Diaz rivalry and then beating Alvarez. He continues to break records. An incredible year.

Stuart Rodger: Fighter of the Year – Conor McGregor

The cocky Irishman once again takes my vote after another great year in 2016. Despite a loss to Nate Diaz, McGregor lost none of his momentum, bouncing back by winning the rematch and then become the first ever two-weight world champion when he emphatically defeated Eddie Alvarez at UFC 205. Heading into 2017, “The Notorious” is still the benchmark for success in UFC.

Roberto Reid: Fighter of the Year – Michael Bisping

For me it has to be Michael Bisping. I know a lot of people would go for Conor McGregor but I feel Bisping is the MMA equivalent Cinderella man after breathing life into what some would call a fading career.

Andreas Georgiou: Fighter of the Year – Conor McGregor

Little explanation needed. Three million dollar plus pay-per-views, two world title belts, and he avenged his one loss to Nate Diaz at UFC 202, McGregor has conquered the mainstream in 2016 and for that he deserves to be called fighter of the year.

Stephen Flynn: Fighter of the Year – Conor McGregor

I have to admit my scope doesn’t branch much out of the UFC but after a historic year of MMA I think it’s impossible to look any further than the man that made history, Conor McGregor. Record gates and PPV’s along with his achievement of destroying Eddie Alvarez on his way to becoming the first ever dual weight champion is what makes him my pick for fighter of the year.

Majority Decision: The champ, champ is here. Conor McGregor is Mr. 2016. Sorry Rob, maybe Bisping will have a shout next year!