Chidi Njokuani enhanced his reputation as one of the promotion’s hottest prospects with a dominant win over Melvin Guillard at Bellator 171 last night.

The fight; which was at an 180lb catchweight, saw the Njokuani dominate the 15-minute encounter from start to finish without fully showcasing his outstanding striking to be awarded the contest on the judges’ scorecard by 30-25, 30-24 and 30-26.

With this lastest win Njokuani stretched his win streak to nine in a row whilst the defeated Guillard drops to 2-9 in his last 11 contests.

Rickels batters Derrow on route to a TKO win

In the co-main event of the evening, David Rickels put on a scintillating performance to batter Aaron Derrow. After a slow start in the open few minutes of round one, the bout would come to life as Rickels tagged his opponent, nearly bringing an end to the fight but Derrow would manage to make it to the bell.    

In the second stanza, Rickels would continue where he left off pummeling his gritty opponent almost bringing an end to the fight in the closing moments of the round.

Once the action resumed the fight would not last much longer as Rickels would land a shot that sent Derrow to the canvas and forced the referee to call time on the contest with just 45 seconds of round three gone. 

Brandon Phillips V AJ McKee

Picture 1 of 11

Photo Credit: Bellator MMA

Bellator 171  Main Card Results

Chidi Njokuani (17-4) def. Melvin Guillard (32-17) via Decision (unanimous) (30-25, 30-24, 30-26)

David Rickels (18-5) def. Aaron Derrow (14-9) via TKO at (0:45 – Round 3)

Jessica Middleton (2-0) def. Alice Yauger (4-5) via Decision (unanimous) (29-28, 30-26, 30-26)

A.J. McKee (6-0) def. Brandon Phillips (6-2) via Decision (unanimous) (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Preliminary Results

Jarod Trice (2-0) def. Kevin Woltkamp (1-3) via knockout (3:17 – Round 2)

Tyrell Fortune (2-0) def. Will Johnson (0-1) via TKO (4:27 – Round 2)

Jordan Young (6-0) def. Chris Harris (7-1) via Decision (Unanimous) (30-26, 30-27, 30-27) 

Justin Overton (4-2) def. Gaston Reyno (6-2) via technical submission (rear-naked choke) (0:34 – Round 2)

Bruna Ellen (3-1) def. Carmella James (0-1) via Decision (unanimous) (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Domo Garcia (1-0) def. Will Lavine (0-1) via submission (triangle choke) (2:08 – Round 2)

Chance Rencountre (9-2) def. Jake Lindsay (11-6) via Decision (Split) (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Johnny Marigo (3-0) def. Joe Fulk (4-5) via TKO (1:23 – Round 1)

Manny Meraz (9-3) def. Scott Heston (4-2) via Decision (Unanimous) (29-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Mike Breeden (1-0) def. Craig Farley (0-1) via TKO (4:38 – Round 1)