Flyweight competitor Jose “Shorty” Torres (3-0) won his first professional MMA championship last night in the co-main event of Titan FC 40 at the BankUnited Center in Coral Gables, Florida, streaming live on UFC Fight Pass.

Torres’ prominent Amateur career with a record of 25-1 record, plus two IMMAF World Championships in 2014 & 2015, has seen him rapidly ascend through the Titan FC ranks showcasing experience on par with any of his pro Titan counterparts. The Chicago native faced Abdiel Velazquez (7-2) for the Titan FC Interim World Flyweight Championship, in the absence of current champion Tim Elliot who has departed to feature on the UFC’s Ultimate Fighter Season 24.

“It’s morphin’ Time!” Torres yelled, as the opening round was just moments away. As the taller man, Velazquez sought to stick and move with busy striking and maintain the range. However, Torres pressured his championship rival throughout the opening round, constantly looking to close the distance and cut off the cage. Torres scored a highlight belly-to-back throw towards the end of the round and took his opponent’s back from where he landed strikes and looked for a rear-naked-choke attempt as the first stanza came to an end.

Victory was secured at 3:52 of the second round. As Velazquez threw a left hand, Torres threw a fatal counter shot, having previously landed multiple blows to shake Velazquez in the previous round. The left hook landed and Torres swiftly followed with a knee to the face as Velazquez stumbled backwards and fell to the ground. Torres dived in for follow up strikes but none were required as the referee stepped in for the TKO.

Freddie Assuncao vs. Gesias Cavalcante capped off the evening with Cavalcante’s Titan FC Light-Heavyweight title reign coming to an end as Freddie Assuncao snatched a Guillotine Choke submission in the latter half of the fight, taking victory via submission in the fourth round.

Titan FC 40 results:
Freddie Assuncao def. Gesias Cavalcante via technical submission (guillotine choke) – Round 4, 0:27
Jose Torres def. Abdiel Velazquez via TKO (knee) – Round 2, 3:52
Desmond Green def. James Freeman via unanimous decision
Andrew Whitney def. Anderson Dos Santos via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 3:28
Farkhad Sharipov def. Bruce Lutchmedial via split decision
Sabah Homasi def. Jorge Patino via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 1:18
Alexis Vila def. Jorge Calvo via unanimous decision
Ron Stallings def. Rashaun Spencer via split decision
Miguel Baeza def. Emre Orun via knockout (head kick) – Round 1, 1:45